E&I Announces Winners of Inaugural Cloud Leadership Awards

2017 Cloud Leadership Awards Winners

November 6, 2017 – E&I Cooperative Services (E&I) announces the winners of their inaugural Cloud Leadership Awards. Winners were awarded during the EDUCAUSE 2017 Annual Conference reception held on November 2, 2017 in Philadelphia, P.A. Sponsored by Adobe, Cisco, Microsoft Azure, and CDW-G, the Cloud Leadership Awards honor the achievements of higher education institutions that have benefited students, teachers, administrators, and staff by using cloud solutions.

2017 Cloud Leadership Awards Winners
From left to right: Keith Fowlkes (VP, Technology Category, E&I), Ron Kraemer (CIO, University of Notre Dame), Derek Masseth (CTO, University of Arizona), Melissa Deets (BD Manager, Higher Education East, CDW-G), and Dorrian Porter (Organizer, Cloud Leadership Awards)

A total of 24 awards across six categories and 18 honorable mentions were given from nearly 100 nominations. The University of Arizona, represented by Derek Masseth, Deputy Chief Information Officer, Chief Technology Officer, and the University of Notre Dame, represented by Ronald Kraemer, Vice President for Information Technology, Chief Information and Digital Officer, were named the overall winners.

A complete list of award recipients by category is as follows:

Cloud Identity Access Management

Adelphi University
Pittsburg State University
Stockton University
Valdosta State University

Cloud Storage

Arizona State University
California State University, San Bernadino
Lee College
University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Backup/Disaster Recovery

Hamline University
Loyola Marymount University
University of Notre Dame
University of Arizona

Hybrid Iaas/Paas

Manhattan College
Oral Roberts University
The New School
University of California at Davis


Eastern Michigan University
George Washington University
Santa Clara University
University of Colorado


Ozarks Technical Community College
Southern State Community College
University of Massachusetts at Lowell
University of Pennsylvania

Honorable mentions were awarded to Auburn University, Binghamton University, California Institute of Technology, CSU Fullerton,  Delaware Valley Unviersity, Fordham University, Gonzaga University, Houston Community College, Joliet Junior College, Pima Community College District, Santa Rosa Junior College, University of Alabama, University of California – Office of the President, University of Florida, University of Mississippi, University of New Mexico, University of Southern California, and University of Tulsa. Special recognition was also given to Santa Rosa Junior College and Houston Community College for the tremendous life-changing situations faced by many of their campus family.

“Technology is a critical area for our members and across the educational landscape,” said Tom Fitzgerald, CEO of E&I. “Cloud solutions have become especially important on campuses across the country. We commend these higher education institutions for their innovative efforts in this area, and are pleased to share with our members the achievements of these institutions so more can realize the positive impacts, increased efficiencies, and cost-savings behind cloud solutions.”

For full details about E&I’s inaugural Cloud Leadership Awards, and to bookmark your nomination for next year, please visit: www.cloudleadershipawards.com.

About E&I

E&I Cooperative Services (E&I) is the member-owned, not-for-profit sourcing cooperative delivering expertise, solutions, and services to education and related institutions. E&I provides members with access to a diverse portfolio of competitively solicited contracts, electronic procurement solutions, and consulting services to help them source effectively. By leveraging the knowledge of 4,500 member institutions, E&I helps members reduce costs and optimize supply chain efficiencies. The Cooperative’s member-driven competitive solicitation process has been validated as complying with generally accepted procurement standards by the National Institute of Governmental Purchasing (NIGP).

> Download Press Release PDF

2017 Cloud Leadership Awards Winners
Share this: