Congratulations to Bill Harris & Steve Mack, Recipients of this Year’s David H. Lord Cooperative Purchasing Award


David H. Lord Cooperative Purchasing Award

Congratulations to Bill Harris and Stephen Mack who were each awarded the prestigious David H. Lord Cooperative Purchasing Award at this year’s NAEP Annual Meeting.

Bill Harris

With more than 30 years of experience overseeing procurement organizations, Bill currently serves as Chief Procurement Officer at the University of Kentucky. Prior to joining the University of Kentucky, he served as Chief Procurement Officer at the University of Missouri System.

Bill was an Adjunct Professor of Purchasing and Materials Management at Washburn University and he conducted statewide purchasing training seminars for local government officials on behalf of the Docking Institute of Public Affairs at Fort Hays State University. He is a Past President of the NAEP Board of Directors, and the Universal Public Purchasing Certification Council designated him as a Certified Public Purchasing Officer (CPPO).

Steve Mack

Steve served as the Associate Vice President for Procurement Services at Drexel University for over three years. Prior to that, he served as Director of Procurement Services for the University of Missouri System and Director of Procurement and Contracting Services for the University of Arizona. He also held positions in procurement at the University of Oklahoma and the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.

Steve was an active member of NAEP, having served on a number of committees throughout his lengthy career, in addition to participating in countless speaking engagements as well as contributing a number of Purchasing Link articles. He also served on the board for the TOAL region and on E&I’s Strategic Sourcing Committee.

We thank Bill and Steve for their shared innovative spirit, impeccable leadership and unwavering commitment to the procurement profession. Although they are both retiring this year, their respective contributions to the procurement profession and the positive impact they’ve had on our organization will remain.

The David H. Lord E&I Cooperative Purchasing Award was created to honor long-time E&I President David Lord. The award recognizes a member who has made exceptional contributions to E&I and its membership over a comprehensive period of time through volunteerism in the area of Cooperative Purchasing.

> Return to the E&I Report

Share this: